CMU logo
Expand Menu
Close Menu

Four SCS Faculty Named 2023 ACM Fellows


SCS faculty members Maria Florina Balcan, Roger B. Dannenberg, Ken Koedinger and Elaine Shi have been named 2023 ACM fellows.

School of Computer Science faculty members Maria Florina Balcan, Roger B. Dannenberg, Ken Koedinger and Elaine Shi have been recognized as 2023 fellows of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). The distinction, reserved for the top 1% of the association's membership, honors recipients' outstanding work in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community.

"The announcement each year that a new class of ACM fellows has been selected is met with great excitement," said ACM President Yannis Ioannidis. "This year's inductees include the inventor of the World Wide Web, the 'godfathers of AI,' and other colleagues whose contributions have all been important building blocks in forming the digital society that shapes our modern world."

Balcan is the Cadence Design Systems Professor of Computer Science in the Machine Learning and Computer Science departments (CSD). Her main research interests are in machine learning, artificial intelligence, algorithmic game theory and theoretical computer science. The ACM recognized Balcan for her contributions to the foundations of machine learning and its applications to algorithmic economics and algorithm design.

Dannenberg is a professor emeritus in CSD. His research interests span computer music, real-time and multimedia systems, and computer-based instruction. The ACM recognized Dannenberg for his contributions to the field of computer science through innovative computer music systems.

Koedinger is the Hillman Professor of Computer Science in the Human-Computer Interaction Institute. His research focuses on understanding human learning and creating educational technologies that increase student achievement. The ACM recognized Koedinger for his advancement of AI models of human learning and developing intelligent tutors to aid students.

Shi is an associate professor in CSD and the College of Engineering's Electrical and Computer Engineering Department (ECE). Her research areas include cryptography, game theory, algorithms, and foundations and blockchains. The ACM recognized Shi for her contributions to the scientific foundation of oblivious computation and decentralized blockchains.

Corina Pasareanu, a principal systems scientist in ECE, member of CyLab and scientist at NASA's Ames Research Center, was also named a 2023 ACM fellow for her contributions to the development and application of symbolic execution and compositional verification.

For more on this year's ACM fellows, visit the association's website.

For More Information
Aaron Aupperlee | 412-268-9068 |

Related People
Ken Koedinger